RSS

Going...Going...Gone-David Kelley, Jean Tardieu

  • Title: Going...Going...Gone
  • Author: David Kelley, Jean Tardieu
  • Released: 2000-11-15
  • Language:
  • Pages: 72
  • ISBN: 1900355213
  • ISBN13: 978-1900355216
  • ASIN: 1900355213

DOWNLOAD CLICK HERE

From School Library Journal Grade 1–3—Katz and Catrow are back with another set of lowbrow song parodies. This time, they skewer athletic pursuits as their untalented protagonists struggle through baseball, fishing, bowling, archery, and eight other popular sports. Katz attempts to match the perverse genius of Shel Silverstein but falls short. Although billed as "silly dilly songs," his characters whine about how awful they are at every activity, and the verses are more annoying than humorous. Catrow's grotesque illustrations serve only to exaggerate the unappealing lyrics. Skip this one and steer patrons to Jack Prelutsky's Good Sports: Rhymes About Running, Jumping, Throwing, and More (Knopf, 2007).—Martha Simpson, Stratford Library Association, CT
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Children old enough to enjoy a good parody will have a field day with this sports-themed book offering rewritten lyrics for familiar tunes. One example is “I Hope William Won’t Tell” (music: “The William Tell Overture”), in which a young archer misses the target but shoots the tire of his parents’ new car. Using clever word choices and situations familiar to kids, such as a triumph on the miniature golf course or the dampened but irrepressible hope of being picked for a team, Katz creates some very amusing rhymes. Meanwhile, the energy and exaggeration in the droll, large-scale illustrations amplify the humor of the verse tenfold. Fans of Katz and Catrow’s previous picture books of song parodies, such as Take Me Out of the Bathtub and Other Silly Songs (2001), will want to share this witty collection with their friends. Sing-along, anyone? Grades K-4. --Carolyn Phelan --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title. pdf
 
0 Comment

Posted by