RSS

The Book of Blood and Shadow-Robin Wasserman

  • Title: The Book of Blood and Shadow
  • Author: Robin Wasserman
  • Released: 2012-04-10
  • Language:
  • Pages: 448
  • ISBN: 0375868763
  • ISBN13: 978-0375868764
  • ASIN: 0375868763

DOWNLOAD CLICK HERE

From School Library Journal Gr 7 Up-Robin Wasserman's novel (Knopf, 2012) focuses on an intricate centuries-old mystery, taking the book's characters from New England to historical Prague. Through her friend, Chris, and his roommate Max, Nora, a high school senior, is brought in to work for "The Hoff," a professor at the denouement of his career. She is assigned the seemingly unimportant task of translating the 16th-century letters of Elizabeth Weston, the adopted daughter of alchemist Edward Kelley, to whom Elizabeth dedicated her life. The boys are assigned the more significant translations to shed light on the mysterious 16th-century Voynich Manuscript-the professor's obsession. Nora and Max begin a romantic relationship. When Chris is murdered and the manuscripts are stolen, Nora sets out to vindicate Max, who is the prime suspect , and heads to Prague. She is convinced that a mysterious secret society-the Lumen Dei-is to blame for the murder. Emily Janice Card skillfully narrates all the characters, seamlessly moving between English, Latin, Czech, and Italian. Listeners will be caught up in the twists and turns of this fast-paced thriller.-Mary Medinsky, Red Deer College, Alberta, Canada α(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. --This text refers to the edition.

Review Kirkus Reviews Best of Teen's Books 2012

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, February 13, 2012:
“Readers who enjoy fast-paced, bloody, historically inflected thrillers in the vein of Dan Brown will be riveted.”

Review, Kirkus Reviews, December 15, 2011:
"Here's something refreshing—a religious-historical thriller . . . serving up shivery suspense, sans fangs or fur . . . A classy read that repays reader effort."

Review, Justine Magazine, February / March 2012:
“A must read for fans of Revolution and The DaVinci Code . . . fast-paced and vivid."

Review, A Chair, A Fireplace, and a Tea Cozy blog, SchoolLibraryJournal.com, March 28, 2012:
"I fell for The Book of Blood and Shadow at the first sentence . . . part of the wonder of The Book of Blood and Shadow is the twists and turns it takes . . .a favorite book read in 2012."

Review, The Horn Book Magazine, March 1, 2012:
"This is a thorough mixture of contemporary American adolescence, the sixteenth-century occult, and atmospheric, historical substance, all dished up with a convoluted plot in DaVinci Code mode."

“A lushly drawn mystery of manipulation and desire."
—Holly Black, author of Black Heart

"Genuinely thrilling. This is the historical conspiracy you've been waiting for."
—Maureen Johnson, author of The Name of the Star pdf
 
0 Comment

Posted by